LCHS Rugby team huddles before the big game.
LCHS Rugby team huddles before the big game.

DESIREE SANCHEZ | STAFF WRITER

After having a strong season, the La Cueva Boys Rugby team were eager for a 4-peat at the State Championships. They put up a hard fight, but accepted defeat with good sportsmanship.

“It was tough losing state, I really wanted that ring and not getting it made me feel like I let down my team,” said Jeremy Winter, senior. Although they are upset about the loss, they are still very pleased with how the rest of their season went.

“Overall, we played our hardest and never gave up. We have come together as a team and I couldn’t be more proud of how far we have come,” said Chris O’Neill, senior.

When walking off the field the La Cueva Rugby team shook hands, gave hugs, and their congratulations to the Rio Rancho team. Winter said, “We held our heads high and I know that the underclassmen are capable of getting the state title next year.”