The Edition Online

Home » Features » Teacher Features » Hitting the High Notes

Hitting the High Notes

NATALIE COOK | EDITOR IN CHIEF

Mrs. Amend practices playing the piano accompaniment for the song the Concert Choir will be singing at the graduation ceremony. Photo by Natalie Cook.

​Some teachers go into the teaching career because they enjoy working with kids, and others go into it because of a situation or adult figure that inspired them to make a change in a person’s life through teaching. Mrs. Amend, the choir director and piano teacher at La Cueva High School, got into music because she was inspired at an early age by her choir teacher, Mrs. Hobbs, who she had in eighth grade. “I looked up to her so much that I decided I’d like to teach music, and I had already started to play drums and piano in third grade, so I was already interested in music. She was such a great choir teacher and total inspiration that I wanted to follow in her footsteps.”

Mrs. Amend did exactly what she wanted to do, following in her choir teacher’s footsteps by starting teaching at Grant Middle School, which was the school Mrs. Hobbs had been teaching at.  “She called me up and asked if I would like to audition for her job, and so I followed her in 1986 and that was my first job,” said Mrs. Amend.

Her teaching career has lasted thirty-one years and the 2017-2018 school year, will be her last year as a teacher. However, she never intended to do anything else in her life besides teach music.  She has had a successful year this year through winning the state contest in both the treble choir division and concert choir division.

As she starts thinking about her wonderful teaching career winding down, Mrs. Amend said, “I am standing here wondering what I am going to do when I retire, but I think it is still going to be something in music, like playing piano for middle schools or writing music for choirs. I think I’ll still be doing music.” Mrs. Amends’ love for this wonderful music will never stop and she will forever remember the students she has taught. “You all, my students are my favorite part of teaching and the reason I get up in the morning and the beautiful music we create together.”

Leave a Reply

Find an Article

Follow us on Twitter!

