The Edition Online

Home » Lifestyles » Wandering Writers » My Lackadaisical Plans for College

My Lackadaisical Plans for College

Marshall Ma |  News Staff

IMG_2435

Marshall Ma, age 3

I remember little me, who had no idea what I was going to do with my life.

15 years have passed and lo and behold, I STILL have no idea what I am doing with my life. But here’s a peek into what I wrote in one of my applications for scholarships:

I’ve structured my plans for college around the future. College for me is simply a bridge to more education. I realize that graduate school will be inevitable for my dream careers, and I fully intend to work hard to prepare for it. I plan to attend graduate school immediately after obtaining my undergraduate degree. I’m currently leaning most towards law school, and very possibly at UNM. The reason I’m interested in going to law school is because my inspirational sister is currently attending UNM Law School. When I was five years old, my family went through a huge divorce that yielded much hardship. As a result of the chaos, my sister had to step in to take care of me. She has become my biggest role mode, inspiration, and friend. I have also interned at Rose L. Brand Law Firm, where I got to learn about cases and how to solve problems with professional settings. This experience has further confirmed my interest in law. Because law school does not require any specific prerequisite degrees, I plan to focus my undergraduate years on psychology, a versatile degree that also satisfies my personal interest. On my spare time, I plan to invest myself in preparing for law school, finding more internship opportunities at law firms, and studying for the LSAT. I also plan on engaging myself in other activities to further explore my passions for music, debate, business, and teaching.

 

Leave a Reply

Find an Article

Follow us on Twitter!

